“Lord, Reign in Me” by Brenton Brown

“Lord, Reign in Me” by Brenton Brown

“Over all the earth, You reign on high, every mountain stream, every sunset sky. But my one request, Lord, my only aim, is that You reign in me again. Lord, reign in me, reign in Your power. Over all my dreams in my darkest hour. You are the Lord of all I am, so won’t You reign in me again.”

“Over every thought, over every word, may my life reflect the beauty of the Lord. ‘Cause You mean more to me than any earthly thing, so won’t You reign in me again. Lord, reign in me, reign in Your power. Over all my dreams in my darkest hour. You are the Lord of all I am, so won’t You reign in me again

REVIEW by Pastor Johnold Strey

Here’s my quick, gut-reaction to the song you cited in your comment:

1. I’m extremely uncomfortable with the language inviting the Lord to “reign in me.” I’m being very sincere when I say that I can’t think of a proper theological way to understand those phrases. This is classic decision theology (a.k.a. “Arminianism”). Credit for our converstion is entirely taken away from the Holy Spirit and assumes that we can invite Christ into our hearts — something that sinners who are “dead in transgressions and sins” (Eph. 2) have no ability to do.

2. The second stanza sings about how I feel about God and want to live for him while continuing the false doctrine of decision theology. Quite subjective in my opinion.

3. There’s nothing in the text that proclaims the faith-strengthening gospel. There’s nothing that suggests the church is larger than the singer and Jesus.

4. A Baptist pastor sent me an email a few weeks ago expressing agreement with a point I made in a recent sermon. One thing he noted is that in many Protestant circles, “lordship salvation” is far more commonly taught than salvation from sin. Jesus as my Soverign Lord and Master seems to trump Jesus as my Redeemer from death, hell, and Satan. I get the very same vibe from this text, especially at the end of both stanzas.

I’m sure that more could be said, but that’s my gut reaction. I wouldn’t use it.

Leave a Reply

